Jeff Midkiff

Jeff Midkiff, Mandolin
Janna Hymes, Conductor

Feb 9

Meet the Music: 6:30 pm
Concert: 7:30 pm
The Palladium



    Bounce (10 min.)


    Mandolin Concerto "From the Blue Ridge" (20 min.)


    Porgy and Bess Symphonic Picture (25 min.)

  • Various
    Favorite music from the Silver Screen!

What's Interesting About This Concert:

  • Guest artist and composer Jeff Midkiff’s Concerto for Mandolin directly reflects his roots in the Blue Ridge Mountains and his fondness for bluegrass music with a touch of swing and jazz in the mix.
  • Looks can be deceiving. The mandolin is classified as a member of the lute family and not as a type of guitar.
  • A friend of composer Adam Schoenberg said his work Bounce sounds like Radiohead meets Aaron Copland. The piece is playful, innocent, fun, light, rhythmic and full of youthful energy, just like the title suggests.
  • Porgy and Bess: A Symphonic Picture includes most of the best-known songs from the Gershwin opera Porgy and Bess including “Summertime,” “I Got Plenty o’ Nuttin,” and “I Loves You, Porgy.”


BUY MORE, SAVE MORE! Save up to 30% when purchasing tickets for the CSO’s remaining masterworks concerts: Jeff Midkiff on February 9, Irina Muresanu on March 9, and Mozart’s Requiem on April 27. Purchase tickets for one concert and save 10%, 20% on two concerts; and 30% when all three concerts are purchased in one transaction! Use promo code CSOSAVE online at TheCenterPresents.org or by calling the Center’s Box Office at 317.843.3800.

Thank you for your support!

  • CityOfCarmel Logo
  • Clay Twp Logo
  • CSOLeague Logo
  • Current Logo
  • BT Logo
  • FinelinePG Logo
  • HVB Logo
  • IU Health North Logo
  • Lakecity Logo
  • MeridianMusic Logo
  • PedcorCompanies Logo Color
  • SEPRO Logo
  • SYM Logo
  • United Bank Logo
  • Wfyi Indianpolis
  • Wicr Logo
  • Penrod Society
  • IAC
  • NEA

Sign up for promotions and updates

Season Subscriptions via CSO Office: 317.844.9717
Single Tickets via Palladium Box Office: 317.843.3800 

© Copyright 2019. Carmel Symphony Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.

Address: 760 3rd Avenue SW, Suite 102, Carmel, IN 46032