Mozart Requiem

Mozart Requiem

Janna Hymes, Conductor
Anderson University Chorale, Anderson Symphonic Choir & Anderson University Alumni
Rick Sowers, Director of Choirs

Apr 27

Meet the Music: 6:30 pm
Concert: 7:30 pm
The Palladium



    Russian Easter Festival Overture (15 min.)


    Lux Aeterna (27 min.)


    Requiem (55 min.)

What's Interesting About This Concert?

  • A Requiem or Requiem Mass is a musical composition associated with death, dying, and mourning, even when they lack religious or liturgical relevance. Requiems are beautiful masterpieces that evoke powerful emotion from the listener.
  • A Count and wealthy landowner from Austria commissioned the Requiem when his young wife died, but planned on commissioning the piece from Mozart and passing it off as his own. Mozart died before he could finish the work and one of his students finished the piece and copied the entire score in his own handwriting so it was virtually impossible to determine who wrote what.
  • American composer Morten Lauridsen blends poetry and the human voice, which he calls the most wonderful and personal of all musical instruments. Lauridsen composed the requiem Lux Aeterna in 1997 the year his mother died. She was the muse making Lauridsen one of many composers who composed requiems inspired by their mothers.
  • Rimsky-Korsakov wrote that his Russian Easter Overture was written to convey the legendary and heathen aspect of the holiday, and the transition from the solemnity and mystery of the evening of Passion Saturday to the unbridled pagan-religious celebrations of Easter Sunday morning.

BUY MORE, SAVE MORE! Save up to 30% when purchasing tickets for the CSO’s remaining masterworks concerts: Jeff Midkiff on February 9, Irina Muresanu on March 9, and Mozart’s Requiem on April 27. Purchase tickets for one concert and save 10%, 20% on two concerts; and 30% when all three concerts are purchased in one transaction! Use promo code CSOSAVE online at TheCenterPresents.org or by calling the Center’s Box Office at 317.843.3800.


Avery Boettcher

Avery Boettcher

Ashlyn Brown

Ashlyn Brown

Thabang Masango

Thabang Masango

Ricardo Ceballos de la Mora

Ricardo Ceballos de la Mora


Thank you for your support!

  • CityOfCarmel Logo
  • Clay Twp Logo
  • CSOLeague Logo
  • Current Logo
  • BT Logo
  • FinelinePG Logo
  • HVB Logo
  • IU Health North Logo
  • Lakecity Logo
  • MeridianMusic Logo
  • PedcorCompanies Logo Color
  • SEPRO Logo
  • SYM Logo
  • United Bank Logo
  • Wfyi Indianpolis
  • Wicr Logo
  • Penrod Society
  • IAC
  • NEA

Sign up for promotions and updates

Season Subscriptions via CSO Office: 317.844.9717
Single Tickets via Palladium Box Office: 317.843.3800 

© Copyright 2019. Carmel Symphony Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.

Address: 760 3rd Avenue SW, Suite 102, Carmel, IN 46032