Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Masterworks 2

November 13, 2021 @ 7:30 pm


Buy tickets HERE

Use the code CSO20 for 20% off all tickets!

Glinka              Russlan and Ludmilla Overture

Marquez          Danzon No. 2

Shostakovich    Ballet Suite No. 1

Price                Symphony No. 3 in C minor


Experience the Exceptional with the CSO!  This concert opens with the famously known Glinka Russlan and Ludmilla Overture.  The rhythms from Marquez Danzon No. 2 may have you wanting to dance from your seat! Followed by Shostakovich Ballet Suite No. 1, which was originally written as “light” music of recycled bits of previous ballet, film, and other scores that were intended for radio only.  He wrote five “Ballet Suites” just to be able to keep money in his bank account!  This concert closes with the Florence Price Symphony No. 3 in C minor.  Price is known for being the first black woman composer to be performed by a major American orchestra.  This particular symphony will take you through a journey of musical risks, strange asymmetries, dissonances and a variety of moods.  A must hear piece!


The Palladium
The Center for the Performing Arts, 1 Carter Green
Carmel, IN 46032
+ Google Map
View Venue Website