2017 Young Artist Competition

Carmel Symphony Orchestra Announces 2017 Young Artist Competition | November 6, 2017 Deadline to Enter is Fast Approaching

The Carmel Symphony Orchestra (CSO) proudly announces its 37th Annual CSO Young Artists Competition, a unique and prestigious concerto competition allowing Indiana student musicians the opportunity to compete with their peers at the highest level of artistic excellence and have the amazing experience of performing in the Palladium at the Center for the Performing Arts in Carmel, Ind.

Continue reading

Janna Hymes Makes Her Debut

Janna Hymes Makes Her Debut as Music Director, Conductor with Carmel Symphony Orchestra

Season’s first concert showcases CSO’s musical depth with Brahms, Barber, Grieg and Beethoven

Janna Hymes and the Carmel Symphony Orchestra (CSO) bring in a new era of orchestral excellence with the season’s opening concert, “Clay Township Orchestral Showcase,” on Saturday, October 14 at 7:30 p.m. at the Palladium, with a pre-concert conversation, “Music Matters,” at 6:45 p.m.

“We are elated with the addition of Janna Hymes to the Carmel Symphony Orchestra, and we are confident in her abilities to lead the orchestra to a new level of artistic excellence,” said Alan Davis, executive director for the CSO. Hymes was named to her post with the CSO late last spring. She serves as the music director for the Williamsburg Symphony Orchestra of Virginia as well as the Maine Pro Musica Orchestra that she founded in 2008.

Continue reading

Fanfare for a New Era

Our 2017-2018 Carmel Symphony Orchestra (CSO) season kick-off on Saturday October 14, 2017 is slated to be an evening full of beautiful music and special CSO moments.

The inaugural concert of the CSO’s 42nd season steps away from a traditional “featured guest artist” format and allows the orchestra and its new conductor to shine musically. The approach, programmed by George Zack, former music director of the Lexington Philharmonic, seemed appropriate for this season’s opener.

CSO Board Member and House District 39 Rep Jerry Torr will start the evening by conducting an original score composed long ago when he was a 20-something music student with a passion for composing.

Continue reading

Jeanne Book Answers Why I Give

“I think the Carmel Symphony Orchestra is the finest thing we have ever produced in Carmel,” says Jeanne Book.

Jeanne has been donating and working with the Carmel Symphony Orchestra (CSO) since 1982. She has served as a past CSO League president and an interim orchestra manager and notes serving the CSO as one of her greatest joys.

Continue reading

  • 1
  • 2
  • 7
  • CityOfCarmel Logo
  • Clay Twp Logo
  • CSOLeague Logo
  • BT Logo
  • FinelinePG Logo
  • HVB Logo
  • IU Health North Logo
  • Lakecity Logo
  • MeridianMusic Logo
  • PedcorCompanies Logo Color
  • SEPRO Logo
  • SYM Logo
  • United Bank Logo

Season Subscriptions via CSO Office: 317.844.9717
Single Tickets via Palladium Box Office: 317.843.3800 

© Copyright 2017. Carmel Symphony Orchestra. All Rights Reserved.